Jim D. Gillentine grew up with a fondness for horror, science fiction and fantasy love stories flavored with the southern tang of his native Memphis. His debut novella, Of Blood and the Moon, was published in 2009 and was the first runner-up for the Darrell Award.

Other publications include stories published in anthologies Cover of Darkness and When the Shadow Sees the Sun, as well as a novella titled A Night at Death’s Door. His novel The Beast Within begins as a bittersweet love story between a woman and a beast, which continues in Crossroads, published by Inkstained Succubus Press. The trilogy was completed with Heart of the Beast, published as a compendium by Pro Se Press. 

A lifelong fan of tabletop RPGs, Jim is currently developing game modules for Grinning Demon Games as well as his latest fiction work.

Jim earned a bachelor’s degree in English literature and philosophy from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. He is a member of the Literary Underworld and the Eville Writers, and is the biggest Godzilla fan in the western hemisphere. He is married to author Elizabeth Donald, and their family lives in a haunted house in Illinois. 

Published work in print

The only thing Andrew wanted was peace. Instead, he found love in the arms of Angela. She was the only woman he had ever met who loved him, even knowing his true nature.

But peace was something he could never truly have. Within Andrew’s chest beat the heart of the Beast, full of rage. When the rage is awakened, a price must be paid. A price of blood and flesh. What does it mean to be a monster that can feel love? And what does the government want with the Beast so badly that it hunts Andrew and Angela around the world?

Follow the story of Andrew and Angela’s horrifying journey from the dark streets of Memphis to the cold reaches of Alaska, from faraway places to deep within each other’s souls, seeking peace and freedom to love one another – if only the world would let them.

Pro Se Productions’ HEART OF THE BEAST collects author Jimmy D. Gillentine’s three novels of Beast, Beauty, and the redeeming power of love. This thrilling volume includes The Beast Within, Crossroads, and Blood of the Father, the third volume published here for the first time.

Click here to purchase!



Logan L. Masterson conceived the idea for this anthology in late 2015, partly in jest, but more in earnest desire.

A book focused on creative souls who experience depression and struggle with horrors that they exorcise by putting them to paper, but just can’t always let go of that way. He wanted a book for creatives, by creatives, to address the struggles so many endure and to offer ways to cope, to deal, and to move on. To overcome. Logan L. Masterson lost his battle with depression on March 29, 2016.

And this book, his idea, is now a reality, to help bring to light the issues creative souls do endure, many similar to anyone else. All profits from WHEN THE SHADOW SEES THE SUN will go to a variety of charities to promote suicide intervention and prevention as well as to assist with working through and surviving depression, with a focus being on those who are artists, writers, performers, etc. affected by this.

Click here to purchase!




2022 Schedule

  • Millstadt Author Fair, Millstadt, Ill. Jan. 15
  • Midsouthcon, Memphis. March 25-27
  • Imaginarium, Louisville, Ky. July 8-10
  • Archon, Collinsville, Ill. Oct. 7-9